Financial Reporting Foundation (FRF)

Financial Reporting Foundation (FRF)

The Financial Reporting Foundation (FRF) is established under the Financial Reporting Act 1997. The FRF comprises representation from all relevant parties in the standard setting process, including preparers, users, regulators and the accountancy profession.

The FRF, as a trustee body, has responsibility for the oversight of the MASB's performance, financial and funding arrangements, and as an initial source of views for the MASB on proposed standards and pronouncements. It has no direct responsibility with regard to standard setting. This responsibility rests solely with the MASB.

The functions of the FRF as provided under section 4 (1) of the Act:

  • to oversee the carrying out of the functions of the MASB; and
  • to perform any other function as the Minister may prescribe by order published in the Gazette.

Without limiting the generality of functions of the FRF in subsection (1), the FRF shall be responsible:

(a) to provide its views to the MASB on any matter which the MASB seeks to undertake or  implement in relation to the MASB’s functions under section 7 of the Act;

(b) to review the performance of the MASB; and

(c) for all financing arrangements for the operations of the MASB, including approving the budget of the  MASB.


The Financial Reporting Foundation (FRF) comprises twelve (12) members who are appointed by the Minister of Finance. Eight (8) of the members are ex-officio representing the Minister of Finance, the Central Bank of Malaysia, the Securities Commission, the Audit Oversight Board, the Registrar of Companies, Bursa Malaysia Berhad, the Malaysian Institute of Accountants and the Malaysian Accounting Standards Board. The four (4) other members who possess knowledge and experience in matters of financial accounting and in one or more of the following fields of accountancy, law, business, or finance.

The members are:

    • Tan Sri Azlan Zainol (Chairman)
    • Encik Hazim Jamaluddin - Deputy Undersecretary, Financial Market and Actuary Division, Ministry of Finance
    • Datuk Nor Shamsiah Mohd Yunus – Deputy Governor, Bank Negara Malaysia
    • Datuk Ranjit Ajit Singh – Chairman, Securities Commission
    • Encik Nik Mohd Hasyudeen Yusoff - Executive Chairman of the Audit Oversight Board
    • Dato' Zahrah Abd Wahab Fenner - Chief Executive Officer, Registrar of Companies
    • Dato' Tajuddin Atan - Chief Executive Officer, Bursa Malaysia
    • Dato' Mohammad Faiz Azmi – President, Malaysian Institute of Accountants
    • Encik Mohamed Raslan Abdul Rahman - Chairman, Malaysian Accounting Standards Board
    • Dato’ Abdul Rahman Ahmad  - Director and Chief Executive Officer, Ekuinas Nasional Berhad
    • Dato' Gan Ah Tee - Managing Partner, BDO
    • Dato' Azmi Mohd Ali - Senior Partner, Azmi & Associates

Members of the FRF Committees are:

Datuk Azman Yahya

  • Tan Sri Azlan Zainol
  • Encik Hazim Jamaluddin
  • Datuk Ranjit Ajit Singh
  • Dato' Tajuddin Atan
  • Encik Mohamed Raslan Abdul Rahman
  • Vacant

  • Vacant
  • Dato' Gan Ah Tee
  • Dato' Azmi Mohd Ali
  • Encik Nik Mohd Hasyudeen Yusoff

  • Datuk Ranjit Ajit Singh
  • Tan Sri Azlan Zainol
  • Encik Mohamed Raslan Abdul Rahman
  • Datuk Nor Shamsiah Mohd Yunus


Please click here for the profile of the FRF members.

Contact Us     |     Career     |     Disclaimer 

This site is best viewed with a resolution of 1024x768 (or higher) and supports Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome and Safari. From the feedback we received, IE users may experience some interruptions when browsing this site.